4 Ways To Complete Your New Year’s Resolutions

At every start of the new year, people make New Year’s Resolutions and by the time February comes around the corner, those resolutions fade into failure. In 2012, I was determined to follow through with my resolutions. And a year after making my resolutions, I completed about 75 percent from my list, including going on a date, losing inches off my waist line and getting published. The thing is, you can too and even complete it in full.

1. Make a plan.

Luke 14:28-31 (NIV):

28 “Suppose one of you wants to build a tower. Won’t you first sit down and estimate the cost to see if you have enough money to complete it? 29 For if you lay the foundation and are not able to finish it, everyone who sees it will ridicule you, 30 saying, ‘This person began to build and wasn’t able to finish.’

31 “Or suppose a king is about to go to war against another king. Won’t he first sit down and consider whether he is able with ten thousand men to oppose the one coming against him with twenty thousand?

I like how the Bible puts it. If you want to complete something, make a plan! One of the reasons resolutions fail is the lack of planning. We often leave our resolutions vague and lacking in goals. Instead of saying, “I’m going to lose weight,” add more to it like, “I’m going to lose weight. I’ll do this by setting aside four days a week to working out at my local gym.”

2. Have accountability.

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 (ESV):

Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. 10 For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up! 11 Again, if two lie together, they keep warm, but how can one keep warm alone?12 And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him—a threefold cord is not quickly broken.

The Bible is logical here. Some things are best done when someone else is there by your side. If you need help completing your goals, have a trusted friend, girlfriend, wife to keep you accountable with your goals. For example, have him or her ask you whether you put your workout in this week. And if you didn’t, you better be fine when they get on your case about being lazy or being too busy to work out.

3. Don’t forget.

One of the most common reasons New Year’s Resolutions fail is that people forget what resolutions they made. Post your list somewhere you can see and reflect on it. I would post my list by my bedroom mirror and check things off after completing my list. When it came to weight management, I had a physical reminder everyday in the form of my local gym. My 24 Hour Fitness is right next to my school, so if I finished from school and decided to head home, I’d see the gym and feel quite convicted if I didn’t put my hours in.

4. Celebrate after every accomplishment.

Reward yourself after every thing you checked off the list. This way, you’ll remember what you had to put in to succeed AND you’re more likely to complete the next thing off your list because you know how good it felt to check something off.

Do you have other ways?

Here are some of our New Year’s Resolutions here at Convivial Gentleman…

Kenneth’s (one of our contributors) resolutions:   

1.Prayer 3x A Day! (On the Clock, I want to have them scheduled so that it becomes routine. 3 times taken time out from whatever I do to pray).

2. Get in Shape! Yuuuuuuuuuup. Gotta return to my true athletic form. Im going to be a husband by the year end, by God’s grace.

3. Read daily! Bible first and foremost but also an intellectual book if possible.

4. Less Social Media browsing, and more meaningful writing! (Blogging, etc.).

5. Refine my hobby in photography and truly begin making it a business like structure.

Michael’s resolutions:

1. Gain 5lbs of lean muscle.

2. Do better in school,

3. Get an internship or job experience regarding my major.

4. Boom Convivial Gentleman

5. Shop some more.

 My resolutions:

1. Lean out and drop to a size 30 waist for pants by doing cardio 5 times a week.

2. Be involved in people’s lives by actually calling up a person or hanging out with a person.

3. Spend more time with God by dedicating my mornings to Bible reading.

4. Blow up Convivial Gentleman by writing more.

5. Learn to cook something new by checking out Cookbooks and inviting people to a cook out party.

Well, some of us have kept our game plans private. Hopefully, we’ll complete our resolutions. So long 2012, here we go 2013!

(Image via AphelisThe Complete Peanuts 1965 to 1966 (Vol. 8) by Charles M. Schulz, Seattle: Fantagraphics Books, 2007, p. 157. The comic strip above was originally published on January 1st, 1966. © 2011 United Features Syndicate, Inc)

Leave a Reply

